shavuot2020

I am very pleased to be offering a virtual deep breath baking workshop at no cost as part of a community shavuot celebration:

Shavuot 2020: Revel & Reveal

Friday, May 29th
8-9am PT / 11am-12pm ET : Mindful challah making
AND
12-12:50pm PT / 3-3:50pm ET: Braiding and baking

If you are planning to join, be sure to wear clothes you can move in and have these ingredients and supplies ready:

DBBingredients

 

Ingredients

 

  • 1 3/4 cup warm water
  • 1 packet of yeast
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup oil (I like safflower or sunflower) + some to oil baking sheet
  • 4 eggs (you can leave this out for egg-free/vegan challah) + 1 egg for optional egg wash
  • 3.5 tsp salt
  • Flour (white, whole wheat and/or spelt will work…approximately 2 lbs or 7 cups total)

DBBchallah

 

Supplies

 

 

  • 1 medium or large mixing bowl
  • 1 liquid measuring cup
  • 1 set dry measuring cups (1 cup, 1/2 cup, 1/3 cup)
  • 1 set measuring spoons (1/2 tsp, 1 tsp)
  • 1 whisk or fork for mixing
  • (optional) 1 brush for egg wash
  • 1 baking sheet
  • Clean surface for kneading
  • 1 clean towel (or plastic wrap to cover for rise)
  • Oven (toaster oven can work in a pinch!)

I will be guiding you through the classic deep breath baking recipe, but feel free to use your own, as your heart desires: DBBrecipe

More information and log-in instructions on the event website, Shavuot 2020: Revel & Reveal